Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

Squiggles Day Care Logo



Early Years Foundation Stage

The nursery incorporates the Early Years Foundation stage (EYFS) framework to support and develop children’s play and learning. This was originally introduced in September 2008.

The Early Years Foundation Stage Document (EYFS) was changed on the 1st September 2012. This document sets the standards that we and all early years’ providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe.

The document promotes teaching and learning that will ensure children's readiness for school. It also gives the children a broad range of skills and knowledge that provide them with the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

Within the EYFS document there are different areas of development for the children to meet that support their effective learning.

The Prime areas are: Personal, social and emotional development, Physical development and Communication and Language.

The specific areas are: Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding of the World and Expressive Art and Design.

In addition the National Day Care Standards will be integrated into the document.

The EYFS covers birth to five years and are divided up through the following

•   A unique child - every child is a competent learner from birth
•   Positive relationships - children can learn to be strong and independent
•   Enabling Environments - the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children learning and development
•   Learning and development - children develop in different ways and at different times and all areas of learning and development at important.

Our curriculum contains planned and unplanned activities that are organised within the nursery and are based heavily on a child’s Personal, Social and Emotional development which underpins all curriculum areas, plus there holistic development and attitude towards coming to the Nursery.

Our Values

The Early Years Foundation Stage framework is reflected in our practice within an environment which is respectful, kind and considerate to all those who attend. Our objective is to celebrate the age of the children as they are, and not purely see the early years as a pre-runner for something bigger and more exciting. We embrace the curricula and lay the foundations for the promotion of kind and considerate individuals.

The 3 Prime Areas of Learning

1.  Personal, social and emotional development

Squiggles provides the opportunity for your child to learn how to relate to both adults and other children. Learning to share, co-operate and show consideration, respect for others and their property will enable your child to fit in and be at ease with their peers. Independence is encouraged but we ensure that your child knows that they only have to ask for help and it will be there. The natural curiosity of children is used to teach them about people, places, animals, plants and each other.

2.   Communication and Language

As children develop we will encourage all aspects of language so that children can communicate well. Good communication depends upon the ability to speak, listen, read and write.

Every activity at Squiggles is made interesting and exciting to encourage your child.


3.   Physical Development

To promote the healthy growth of your child and for them to develop muscular control and co-ordination regular activity is provided through games and play. As well as being engaged in physical activities your child will be encouraged to solve little problems, all of which all helps to build self-confidence and all round ability.

The 4 Specific Areas of Learning

1. Mathematical Development

Mathematics revolves around practical activities and experience which form part of our daily routines. For example, tidying up and organising toys, matching shapes to understand shape and size, construction with shapes and fitting them together, counting and much more.

2. Understanding of the World

Activities are designed to make your child aware of the world around them and the wider world outside. They will begin to understand about the weather, nature, animals and plants, different countries and cultures. They will be taken on local walks and encouraged to collect items of interest.

3. Literacy

For the older children reading and writing is encouraged by making reading and writing materials readily accessible to your child. There are many opportunities to listen to stories, audio and CD’s and the children are encouraged to listen to each other. The ‘quite area’ is always available for reading, stories and cuddles!

4. Expressive art and design

Your child will use creative activities involving model-making, art, craft, music and movement. Every day a selection of these activities will be available to your child many of which will be structured with guidance and encouragement from our staff. Involvement is more important than what is actually made.

Two Year check up

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) requires that parents and carers must be supplied with a short written summary of their child’s development in the three prime learning and development areas of the EYFS: Personal, Social and Emotional Development; Physical Development; and Communication and Language when the child is aged between 24-36 months.

The progress check has been introduced to enable earlier identification of development needs so that additional support can be put into place.

© Squiggles Day Care and Activity Club Ltd 2014. Hosted by